2012 Game Recap


Returning to Bloomington for the first time since 1997, the Illinois Shrine All-Star Football Game at Illinois Wesleyan University’s Tucci Stadium entertained a near capacity crowd with a 27-26 overtime victory by the West squad.

Despite a delayed start by heavy rains that caused flash floods in some areas of the city, both squads battled until the final possession.  Tied 20-20 at the end of regulation, DeShawn Johnson of Moline ran five yards for a touchdown, and Lewistown’s Gage Beekman converted the extra point to give the West a 27-26 lead.

Not to be denied, the East team answered on a 10-yard run by Marshall’s Andre Strohm to pull within a point, but Strohm’s run around left end on the two-point conversion attempt was stopped short of the end zone for the West victory.

Trailing 20-6, Normal Community West’s Johnathan Maebane intercepted a pass and returned it 60-yards to bring his team within a score.  Maebane was later named the East squad’s defensive Most Valuable Player.

A fumble recovery and 27-yard reception by East offensive MVP Zach Grant of Rochester along with a subsequent two-point conversion by Strohm tied the score at 20-20 with 6:06 left

The East had a chance to win the game in regulation, but a blocked 20-yard field goal attempt with four seconds remaining sent the game into overtime.

Maine South running back Paul Preston scored an early touchdown with an 11-yard scoring run, and earned offensive MVP honors for the victorious West squad.

Marcus Gooden of Belividere was the West’s defensive MVP.

[Photos compliments of Jeff Findley – www.voiceofseason.com]